have you tried free lensing?

I was finishing breakfast on Saturday. The shape of an empty glass of water took my attention, and as I had my iPhone nearby, I thought I’d see what happened if I took a photography through the bottom of the glass.

through the water glass - iPhone 5

 

I thought it looked pretty interesting so posted it on Facebook. Photographer Laura Goyer thought it was fun too, and asked the question, “Have you tried free lensing?”

Not only hadn’t I tried it, I had no idea what it meant. Cue Mr Google where I found these instructions on A Beautiful Mess blog.

Free lensing involves removing the lens from your camera and holding it in a tilt fashion in front of the sensor.

It didn’t take me long to have a play. At first I thought, that because I have a mirrorless camera and not a DSLR, it might not quite come off. In addition, a few settings on your camera need adjustment to make it possible eg enable the shutter when a lens is not attached.

It’s clearly going to take a lot of practice, and you wouldn’t try it in a dust storm, but there’s no doubt I’ll have some more play with this to see what surprises emerge.  Thanks Laura!

freelensing play 1

freelensing play 2

1 comment

Leave a Reply

