greater egret

I’ve been timing my coast walks close to high tide so it was after 2pm that I made today’s trek. The only shore birds evident were the usual suspects, these Black-winged Stilts. They were mostly intent on holding the same pose. As I was leaving, I caught sight of a Greater Egret wading around the mangroves.

b&w stilts - OP - 1 Sept 2014

I watched him catch two fish and then took a few unspectacular photographs from my vantage point.

greater egret - OP 1 Sep 2014Once done fishing, the bird took off in a hurry. Any shot of his departure was going to be miraculous. You’ll notice that the camera (and the photographer) did manage to get the mangroves in focus.

Egret takes flight - FX Pacific 20

Leave a Reply

