breaking down ‘the wave’

As we get closer to the home front dear ones, I thought you might appreciate an analysis of the common phenomenon of waving to each other that you will notice on the open road if you ever decide to get out there and tow anything akin to a caravan. Here are a few of my observations.

The point.  “I see you mate, let’s not make too much of a deal of this”.

The lazy index finger lift.  “If I have to”.

The enthusiastic full-hand-all-over-the-place wave can mean a number of things. You have to be particularly careful not to ignore such apparently over-the-top excitement because if it’s point 3, it’s to your advantage to pay attention.

1 “We’ve only been on the road for a day and I’m excited”.

2 “I ooze friendly and I love this game.”

3 “The load on top of your car is listing very dangerously to the left.”

The V for Victory wave. “Yay, dude”.

The backwards middle finger wave. Now that’s just rude!

The sorry I was a bit late with that wave.  You’ll never know what that one looked like.

The compensating passenger wave. “My husband doesn’t do waving”.

The salute. “I see you”.  Often this wave is given when the opposing driver recognises a mirror copy of his rig is coming his way and he is complimenting you on your shared good taste.

The no wave at all.  Be careful not to interpret this as discourteous as I’ve identified a number of scenarios where the no wave is appropriate.

“You and I both know we can’t let go of the bloody steering wheel because these *$!#ing road corrugations are REALLY bad”

“This is a bendy bit of the road. I hope you understand”.

“I don’t wave” Still not necessarily discourteous. Sometimes you just don’t feel like waving to someone you’ve never met and are very unlikely to do so given you are traveling in opposite directions.

Occasionally on this trip, I’ve felt a bit like the poet Stevie Smith when she wrote “not waving but drowning”. Ten days out from arriving home, I am pleased to say that I have largely survived being out of my comfort zone, but I tell you something.

I don’t wave.

1 comment
  1. tingle said:

    Lynn this is making me laugh out loud at my kitchen counter. We didn’t encounter many waves as there are so many cars here it would be ridiculous, but I believe I would be in the “I don’t wave” category as my hands were glued to the f*#$^ing steering wheel in absolute terror! Thanks for these glimpses into your trip. I hope we can share the road someday. Back to reading now . . .

Leave a Reply

