“i shall raise my voice” – Malala Yousufzai

Some weeks ago, I heard Anne Summers on the radio promoting her new venture – an online interactive magazine called Anne Summers Reports. It’s free, interactive and available for download as a pdf. Support to keep it going is via reader donations. The first issue is worth a look.  There’s a feature article on David Gonski and this 15 minute video clip from the 2012 Women in the World summit.

In her tribute to Hillary Clinton, Meryl Streep mentions Clinton’s ‘unheralded shadow diplomacy’.  It’s an inspiring speech that provides insight into the importance of apparently small behind-the-scenes interactions of people in positions of power. Of course, Hillary Clinton’s role puts her in a place where she can make a difference. Yet I don’t doubt that across the broad spectrum of economic capacity and living standards, and education and age and place, there are countless unheralded acts that happen every day to support and promote the human rights of girls and women.

Some of those acts require courage in the face of threats to life. This girl came out of the shadows and almost paid the ultimate price for standing up for the right of girls to have an education.

In 2011, Malala Yousufzai was interviewed by CNN.g9530_malala.indd

“I shall raise my voice. If I didn’t raise my voice now..when will I raise my voice?”

“I have the right of education, I have the right to play. I have the right to sing. I have the right to talk. I have the right to go to market. I have the right to speak up”.

We can think it’s overwhelming. We can think we can’t possibly make a difference. Or we can act in small ways to move closer to a collective tipping point for change.

Leave a Reply

